Pricing checked against SAHPRA-registered providers
South Africa
Compare prices
Registered with SAHPRA

Wegovy prices in South Africa

Wegovy contains the same active ingredient as Ozempic — semaglutide — but is formulated and dosed specifically for chronic weight management, up to a higher maximum dose. It's made by Novo Nordisk and taken as a once-weekly injection. Below is exactly what the providers we track actually publish for Wegovy — not invented per-dose figures.

Price comparison

Wegovy, by dose and provider

Every figure below is exactly what the provider publishes on its own page, verified on 2026-08-28.

DoseProviderTypePrice
Wegovy 0.25mg pen packagingWegovy 0,25 Mg 0.68 mg/ml, pack of 1Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR2 291.63Regulated maximum (SEP) + R418.81 dispensing fee
Wegovy 0.5mg pen packagingWegovy 0,5 Mg 1.34 mg/ml, pack of 1Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR2 291.63Regulated maximum (SEP) + R418.81 dispensing fee
Wegovy 1mg pen packagingWegovy 1 Mg 1.34 mg/ml, pack of 3Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR3 308.00Regulated max (SEP), R1 102.67/pen + R474.07 dispensing fee
Wegovy 1.7mg pen packagingWegovy 1,7 Mg 2.27 mg/ml, pack of 3Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR3 790.30Regulated max (SEP) + R500.30 dispensing fee
Wegovy 2.4mg pen packagingWegovy 2,4 Mg 3.2 mg/ml, pack of 3Clicks, Dis-Chem, Medirite, Pick n Pay Pharmacy, Alpha PharmPharmacyR4 272.14Regulated max (SEP) + R526.50 dispensing fee
Not disclosed bundled programGet Tested South AfricaTelehealthR4 500Program · injection + initial assessment
Not disclosed bundled programGet Tested South AfricaTelehealth~R4 500Program · continuation, estimated, /month

The five Clicks/Dis-Chem/Medirite/Pick n Pay Pharmacy/Alpha Pharm rows show the government-regulated Single Exit Price by dose — the legal maximum any South African pharmacy may charge, from the official Medicine Price Registry. It's the same ceiling at every pharmacy, not a chain's own published price — none of them publish an individual price online, since South African law restricts advertising Schedule 4 medicine prices to the public. Get Tested South Africa is the only telehealth provider with an actual price tied to Wegovy specifically, as a bundled program. Two other telehealth providers we checked, Online Doctor SA and GetWegovy Direct, also prescribe Wegovy but only publish a R350 consultation fee, with the medication billed separately; see our provider directory for those.

What is Wegovy?

Wegovy is Novo Nordisk's semaglutide formulation registered specifically for chronic weight management, rather than diabetes. It uses the same GLP-1 mechanism as Ozempic — slowing digestion and reducing appetite — but titrates up to a higher weekly dose (2.4mg) intended for sustained weight-loss treatment alongside diet and physical activity changes.

Because Wegovy is a newer entrant to the South African market than Ozempic, stock availability can be less consistent across providers. It's worth checking current stock directly with a provider before relying on a listed price.

Not the same prescription as Ozempic

Even though the active ingredient is identical, Wegovy and Ozempic are prescribed for different primary indications and dosed differently. A prescriber will determine which is appropriate for you.

Related medications

You may also want to compare Ozempic (same active ingredient, diabetes-focused dosing), Mounjaro (a dual-mechanism alternative), or Saxenda (an older, daily GLP-1 injection).